top of page

A Different Kind of New Year's Motivation


Day 15? Or the new Day 1... My Motivational Momma Bails

I ruined it. New Year’s Eve ruined it. I ate everything. All the cheeses… there were so many cheese products. Cheese dip, cheese and meat on bread, fancy spicy cheese and crackers. Also, tequila and cookie cake… I didn’t stand a chance. Holidays are hard, y’all.

I went to visit my college sorority mom and her family in Springfield, Missouri. We technically aren’t supposed to call them “moms” …. most other sororities call them “bigs”. I believe the reason “Mom/Dot” is forbidden because it seems as though a Mom would scold or look down upon them instead of guiding them like a big sister would do... But I am obviously the rebel of all rebels and I will continue to refer to her mi mamacita.

Bailey’s family lives in a breathtakingly beautiful house, hidden on the edge of suburban Springfield Missouri, complete with sparkling hills of golden sunlight, healthy horses and old, cobblestone barns. Her parents are lawyers and unbelievably personable for how intelligent they both are. They have 4 daughters; Bailey is the second-to-oldest. They are all beautiful, athletic, smart, and driven... I have no idea how her parents pulled that off. But, their house, family, and lifestyle are the definition of #lifegoals. Her dad even wears a cowboy hat and makes big Sunday breakfasts from scratch.

It’s hard to describe Bails. She’s beautiful. She is everything you would want your daughter to be – smart, self-motivated, understanding, patient, kind and modest as hell. Bailey is athletic but also adorably awkward. She is a great friend and an even better sorority momma.

On Thanksgiving Day, Bailey got into a bad wreck. I had two missed phone calls as I sat down for my family’s 2pm feast… I immediately knew someone was hurt. I have a mild form of PTSD from losing friends in the past - If I have 2 or more missed calls, especially within minutes of each other, my anxiety hits the fan and I instantly assume someone is dead.

Bailey, now the toughest biznatch I know, was not dead. She was, however, in a coma getting life-flighted to a hospital in Springfield, Missouri. She had collapsed lungs, broken ribs, a shattered pelvis, internal bleeding and a strong will to fight through it all.

Now, over a month later, Bailey is awake and recovering…and she is still Bailey. Awkward, hilarious, smart, modest Bailey. She smiles like Bailey… laughs like Bailey...motivates like Bailey. I am so thankful for her.

She has another month or so zero-weight-bearing, then she gets to learn how to walk again. Bails tries to remain positive but you have to know for a girl who loves to run and workout, not getting on your feet for months and then having to spend 6 more months learning how to get back to “normal” is hard. Really hard.

She is lucky to be alive, but that doesn’t make the situation feel less shitty to the one stuck relying on others (even though we are all more than happy to be there for her). She is independent as hell (the #1characteristic I love about most all of my closest friends) and she hates to ask for help.

ANYWAYS POINT OF THE STORY RELATING TO THIS FITNESS BLOG: Bailey was active as hell. She’s got a rockin’ bod that she runs for. I have some thyroid/hormone bullshat that hold me back from dropping weight but it doesn’t hold me back physically in any way. I am lucky. I take advantage of the fact that I can get up, get dressed, and go to the gym. I can stand up, sit down, jump rope, skip, run (barely), etc. Bailey would give anything to be able to do any of that right now.

Gonna work out hard today…maybe even go for a run (send prayers.)


Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page